Motorsport Scale Models

A virtual museum for sport and racing scale model cars and motorbikes


The origins of car maker Audi are complex and go back to 1932, when two initial enterprises (Horch and the Audiwerke, founded by engineer August Horch), and two other manufacturers (DKW and Wanderer), were merged, leading to the foundation of Auto Union. The four rings of the Auto Union logo represent these seminal four brands, and were adopted by Audi when the modern company was formed later on.

The modern era of Audi began in the 1960s when Auto Union was acquired by Volkswagen from Daimler-Benz. After relaunching the Audi brand with the 1965 introduction of the Audi F103 series, Volkswagen merged Auto Union with NSU Motorenwerke in 1969, thus creating the present day form of the company.

In addition to Audi, there are a few representatives from Wanderer, Horch and Auto Union in the Audi Collection.

YearCar / Version / Reference
1935Audi Front 225 Roadster
CMC Audi 503.09.001.05
1936Wanderer W25K Roadster
Ricko 32108
1939Horch 855 Special Roadster
SunStar 2401
1958Auto Union 1000 S Coupe
grey / red interior
Revell 08978
1961Auto Union 1000 SP Roadster
light blue / removeable soft top
Ricko 32157A
1973Audi 100 Coupé S
Anson 30402
1988Audi Quattro (LWB)
metallic silver
AutoArt 70303
1988Audi Quattro Sport (SWB)
Tornado (red)
AutoArt Audi 503.04.002.05 (LE 3.000)
1998Audi TT Roadster
dark grey metallic
Maisto 31878
2000Audi Rosemeyer
Concept car
Maisto 31625
2006Audi RS4 Avant
Avussilber (silver)
Minichamps Audi 501.05.092.15
2006Audi TT Roadster
metallic black
Minichamps 100-015030
2007Audi R8 Coupe 4.2 FSI V8
Daytonagrau (metallic gray)
Kyosho Audi 501.06.184.25
2009Audi R8 Spyder 5.2 FSI V10
Ibisweiss (white)
Kyosho Audi 501.09.185.15
2009Audi TT Coupe 3.2 V6 Quattro
Phantomschwarz (black)
Minichamps Audi 501.05.004.25
LE = Limited Edition + units, CoA = Certificate of Authenticity

Audi-Group models in other Collections

In addition to the street cars that form the Audi Collection, the brand from Ingolstadt has a brilliant history in racing, including the “rally revolution” in the 80’s with the Quattro and a long streak of victories in Le Mans that began with the Millennium.

I also decided to include the R8 Coupe as the brand’s representative in the Supercar collection.

There are also a few Auto Union models from the 30’s in the Formula-0 (or pre-Formula) Collection, plus a Stromlinie version in the Special cars Collection.

Finally, there are a couple NSU models in other Collections. This is the complete list of Audi-Group cars in other Collections of this virtual museum:

CollectionYearCar / Version / Reference
LE MANS1999Audi R8R Le Mans
#8 – LM third (F. Biela / D. Theys / E. Pirro)
Maisto 20728
LE MANS2000Audi R8 Le Mans
#8 – LM winner (F. Biela / T. Kristensen / E. Pirro)
Maisto 38899
LE MANS2001Audi R8 Le Mans
#1 – LM winner (F. Biela / T. Kristensen / E. Pirro)
Maisto 38626
LE MANS2002Audi R8 Le Mans
#1 – LM winner (F. Biela / T. Kristensen / E. Pirro)
Maisto 38659
LE MANS2002Audi R8 Le Mans
#3 – LM third (M. Krumm / P. Peter / M. Werner)
Maisto 38659
LE MANS2004Audi R8 Le Mans
#5 – LM winner (S. Ara / R. Capello / T. Kristensen)
Spark 18S002-S1802
LE MANS2004Audi R8 Le Mans
#88 – LM second (J. Davis / J. Herbert / G. Smith)
Spark 18S006-S1806
LE MANS2005Audi R8 Le Mans
#2 – LM third (F. Biela / A. McNish / E. Pirro)
Spark 18S005-S1805
LE MANS2005Audi R8 Le Mans
#3 – LM winner (Lehto / Werner / Kristensen)
Spark 18S001-S1801
LE MANS2006Audi R10 TDI
#7 – LM third (R. Capello / T. Kristensen / A. McNish)
Spark 18S007
LE MANS2006Audi R10 TDI
#8 – LM winner (F. Biela / E. Pirro / M. Werner)
Spark 18S008
LE MANS2007Audi R10 TDI
#1 – LM winner (F. Biela / E. Pirro / M. Werner)
Spark 18S016
LE MANS2008Audi R10 TDI
#2 – LM winner (McNish / Capello / Kristensen)
Spark 18LM08
LE MANS2009Audi R15 TDI
#1 – LM third (R. Capello / T. Kristensen / A. McNish)
Norev 188344
LE MANS2010Audi R15 TDi
#9 – LM winner (Rockenfeller / Bernhard / Dumas)
Spark 18LM10
LE MANS2011Audi R18 TDi
#2 – LM winner (Fässler / Lotterer / Treluyer)
Spark 18LM11
LE MANS2013Audi R18 E-tron Quattro
#2 – LM winner (T. Kristensen / L. Duval / A. McNish)
Spark 18LM13
RACE-GT1988Audi 200 Quattro
#14 – Trans-Am Cleveland winner (H.-J. Stuck)
Minichamps 100-881314
RACE-GT1989Audi 90 Quattro IMSA GTO
#4 – Mid-Ohio winner (H.-J. Stuck)
Minichamps 100-891604
RACE-GT1990Audi V8 Quattro
#44 – Team SMS / DTM Champion (H.-J. Stuck)
Minichamps 100-901044
RACE-GT1995Audi A4 STW
#3 – Touring Car World Champion (F. Biela)
UT 39542
RACE-GT2009Audi R8 LMS
#97 – 24h Nürburgring second
Spark 18S039
RALLY1981Audi Quattro
#12 – Rally Portugal (M. Mouton / F. Pons)
SunStar 4184
RALLY1981Audi Quattro
#2 – Swedish Rally winner (H. Mikkola / A. Hertz)
SunStar 4185
RALLY1984Audi Quattro LWB A2
#1 – Monte-Carlo Rally winner (Röhrl / Geistdörfer)
AutoArt Audi 503.04.003.05
RALLY1984Audi Quattro LWB A2
#10 – Acropolis Rally winner (Blomqvist / Cedeberg)
AutoArt 88402
RALLY1985Audi Sport Quattro S1
#5 – San Remo winner (W. Röhrl / C. Geistdörfer)
OttOmobile OT130 (LE 4.000)
RALLY1986Audi Sport Quattro S1
#2 – Monte-Carlo Rally (W. Röhrl / C. Geistdörfer)
OttOmobile OT602 (LE 2.500)
SUPERCARS2010Audi R8 Coupe 5.2 FSI V10
Sepangblau (blue)
Kyosho Audi 501.09.184.15
PRE-FORMULA1936Auto Union Type C
CMC 34 (LE)
PRE-FORMULA1936Auto Union Type C Bergrenner
Hillclimb version with dual rear wheels
CMC 53 (LE 5.000)
PRE-FORMULA1936Auto Union Type C Engine
16 cylinder engine on wooden display
CMC 34 (LE)
PRE-FORMULA1938Auto Union Type D
#4 – Tazio Nuvolari
CMC 43 (LE 2.000)
PRE-FORMULA1938Auto Union Type D
CMC 27
SPECIAL1937Auto Union Type C Stromlinie
#31 – silver
Revell 08436
#71 – Jägermeister / German Hillclimb Champion
Revell 8460 (LE 7.500)
RACE-GT1971NSU 1300 TTS Cup
#520 – TT Cup / Mountain races (J. Latsch)
Revell 8427 (LE 2.500)
LE = Limited Edition + units, CoA = Certificate of Authenticity
%d bloggers like this: